Are They Worth The Hype? ♡

There are so many products which you will constantly see floating around social media, being featured in many YouTube videos and all over your Instagram feed. As I saw these products being hyped about online I decided to get many of them myself with high expectations. Today I thought I would share with you my honest opinion of some of these products.

Firstly, lets start with the Naked palettes by Urban Decay. I received the Naked 2 and 3 palettes for Christmas the year before last and I was so excited as I had seen them EVERYWHERE! At this point I didn’t know what eye shadow colours suited me so had asked for both palettes to get a variation. Now that I know a lot more about makeup here’s what I think…

The Naked 2 palette has some nice shades in but it is SO hard to create a full look with. You only get 4 matte shades (one of these being a black) and I personally think that none of these matte’s work well together to create a full look. In this palette you also get 8 shimmer shades, some of these shimmers have good pigment, others, not so much. If you want for these shimmers to stand out you have to use a lot of the product which comes with a lot of fallout (which is very annoying). However, I will still definitely get use out of this palette but will have to use it alongside others to be able to create a good look.

The Naked 3 palette is slightly better within the fact that it is much easier to create a full look using just this palette. Even though this palette only has 3 matte shades, the shades go well together and are similar colours. I definitely prefer the shimmers in this palette as the colours are a lot lighter than the Naked 3 and have slightly less fallout. However, the pigmentation still isn’t great so the shades have to be built up a lot.

IMG_0963

Another thing which annoys me about these palettes is the fact that after a while the packaging becomes really stiff and every time you go to open it, it feels as though it is breaking. Overall, I can’t see myself buying these palettes again in the future but I will definitely keep using them so that they are not wasted.

On a more positive note, lets talk about MAC’s lipstick in the shade Velvet Teddy. I absolutely love everything about this and can see why it is/was so hyped about. I’d describe it as a brown-toned nude/pink. I normally find that matte lipsticks make my lips feel very dry but this one doesn’t at all. Because of its shade it is so wear-able and goes with so many looks! I have tried finding dupes for this but can’t because I’m so impressed with it, I would definitely recommend!

IMG_0970

A product which was hyped about so much was the Benefit They’re Real mascara, when I got my first tube of this I was very impressed and it was my go-to mascara for a very long time. As so many more mascaras have been brought out since it, I have realised that it actually isn’t as good as I remember and it doesn’t lengthen or give your lashes any volume . For the price I definitely wouldn’t buy it again but will finish off the ones that I have.

IMG_0968

A concealer which was all over YouTube was the Urban Decay Naked Skin. I picked one up to see if it lived up to my expectations. As much as I do like this concealer I wouldn’t use it over the Collection Lasting Perfection purely because of how they both wear. I found that the Naked Skin would look great as soon as it was applied and a few hours later you could start to see creases and it had worn away. Whereas, the Lasting Perfection stays in place all day and maintains its coverage. Considering the price difference between these products, I will definitely be buying the Collection concealer instead of the one from Urban Decay in the future.

IMG_0965

After seeing so many beauty YouTubers hype about the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer, I had to pick one up. Before getting this I would never prime my eyes before eye shadow. I’m so glad that I got this as it has made such a difference. It creates the perfect, smooth base and doesn’t make your eyes feel heavy at all. I have definitely noticed that since using this my eye shadow stays on much longer and keeps its pigment. Definitely recommend.

Benefit’s the Pore Fessional used to be hyped about so much on the internet, to this day I still own many of these because I really like them. It definitely creates a smooth base for your makeup to be applied on to. However, it claims to minimise the appearance of pores and I have never noticed that this product makes any difference. I think it’s normally quite difficult to judge whether a primer is good or not but having used this many times I think it helps keep my makeup on better throughout the day and makes it apply smoothly.

IMG_0966

Finally, lets talk about setting sprays. I have got both the Urban Decay All Nighter and the MAC Prep and Prime. The MAC Prep and Prime has got a really nice, fresh scent and feels really nice when you apply it after your full face of makeup, however, I have noticed that it doesn’t really help your makeup stay on at all. This is much better when used to wet eye shadow brushes as it helps pick up so much more of the shadow which makes the pigment look amazing!! I have also seen many people use this to dampen their beauty blenders before applying foundation. When I tried this out it didn’t help very much so I would definitely choose to use water instead. This however, does create a nice base before applying makeup as it makes your skin feel really fresh.

The Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray is 1000% the best setting spray I have ever tried, I use it constantly and still have so much left. When using this you can definitely notice a difference with how long your makeup lasts and it sits so weightlessly on top of your makeup that you almost can’t tell you have used it. I would definitely recommend and I will be buying this again as soon as mine runs out.

IMG_0971

P.s. all opinions stated in this post are fully my own, I think it’s important to give my readers my honest opinion on products. I understand that different products work for different people so I hope that I didn’t offend anyone.

Thank you so much for reading! I really hope that you enjoyed this post, if you’d like to follow me on Instagram or Twitter you can find me at @bethxkate.

Beth ♡

 

 

22 thoughts on “Are They Worth The Hype? ♡

  1. I agree with so many of your points! I love the UD setting spray and think that there are better products than the hyped Benefit ones (they’re real, porefessional, etc.). I don’t have the Naked 2 but I love my Naked 3! So weird that yours are hard to open!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think another reason I’m not so fond of the Naked 3 is because pink shades don’t always suit me so I never feel like I look good when wearing them. I’m not too sure why it’s so hard to open, it’s very strange!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

