My Prom 2017

It has been over 2 weeks since prom and as I have been on holiday in Florida I haven’t been able to find the time to write a post about my prom, so here it is today. I was really nervous about my prom and the build-up was horrible but when it came down to the actual day, everything went well and I had a good night.

I’m not sure if every school does this but mine had a group filled with all the girls from the year so that everybody knew each others dress and to not get the same. I bought my dress all the way back in January as I didn’t want to accidentally get the same dress as someone else. I had searched all over the internet but couldn’t find anything that I liked. I knew that I wanted something quite simple and ideally black so that it was flattering. Luckily, when me and my mum went prom dress shopping in my city centre, I found a few dresses in House Of Fraser that I liked. After trying them all on, I went for this black one which has silver sparkles around the waist which faded. The dress was £140 and was from the brand JS BOUTIQUE, even though it was very expensive for just a dress, I know that I can re-wear it in the future if the right event comes up.

image

My clutch (shown in image above) was from TK Max and was only £7. It came with a long strap but I wanted to be able to hold it as I preferred how this looked. In my clutch I took: money, chewing gum, powder, a powder brush and a small perfume. The necklace that I wore to prom (which you can hopefully see in the picture), I got from Ebay and I’m sure it was around £5. This is such good quality for the price and I love how expensive it looks. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures where you can see my shoes but they were black heels from H&M which were £25, even though they were quite high, I managed to last most of the evening wearing them.

As for my hair, I got my sister to curl it as this is my favourite way of having my hair. Luckily it stayed in all night but it did drop slightly, which I was expecting.

IMG_7335

For makeup, I knew I wanted to do it myself as I know that I can trust myself to do it and not have to stress if I don’t like how someone else has done it. I went quite simple as I didn’t want to go overboard and end up regretting it. For eyeshadow I used the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette and my Morphe 35O to create a brown smokey eye. For foundation I used my trusty Revlon Colorstay as I knew this would last and doesn’t come out strange in photos. For concealer I used the Collection Lasting Perfection and the Maybelline Age Rewind. For powder I used the Rimmel Clear Complexion. I bronzed using the Terra Naturi bronzer. I filled in my eyebrows with the Benefit Gimmie Brow. For mascara I used the Maybelline Lash Sensational and to finish it all of I used the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray. Surprisingly, my makeup lasted well and only needed a few touch up’s of powder.

Before prom, my group of friends from school and their parents all came over my house to take pictures and drink champagne. After this we split up and took different cars to the venue and met up again there. My friendship group had a table to ourselves which we sat at for the meal and mostly spent the rest of the time dancing or taking pictures with other friends and teachers. Overall, I definitely enjoyed prom and it was a great ending to year 11, it was a nice reward as we had all recently finished our GCSE exams.

If you have recently had your prom then I really hope that you enjoyed it! And if you have your prom next year then hopefully this gave you some insight of what to take and what it will be like.

Thank you for reading! If you’d like to follow me on Instagram or Twitter you can find me at @bethxkate.

Beth ♡

31 thoughts on “My Prom 2017

      1. Aww curls r great but sometimes you may want it straight, I was the same way with my hair but there is oils you can use along with straightness that work a treat 😁 I have one I’m gonna put up as a review on my blog soon , but yeah it toke me a while to embrace the curls x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

